Ode to a Light-Rope

January 6, 2010

It’s official, Christmas is over. And the decorations have to go. Huff.

I’ll miss you peppermint candy-canes I hung from the bookcase.

I’ll miss you poinsettia that I lovingly placed by the TV.

I’ll miss you gnarly, old branches that I bought at an inflated price in Kits and are now eerily growing the green shoots  of the undead.

But I’ll miss you most of all  light-rope.  We had good times. Like when I gave you to Batman and his little 30 something eyes lit up with 5 year old joy. Like when we arranged you in a cool wavey shape on top of the bookcase and turned you on for the first time in the darkened room. Like when you suddenly broke free from the tape we had holding you down and nearly sweeped the water-filled vase in front of you onto all the books below. At 2 am. Scaring the sh*t out of us. On Christmas eve.

We love you light-rope.

Leave a Reply

